

Debt Recovery Policy - Water

All residents within the Village limits who have applied to have active water service will be billed monthly for those services. Meter readings will be compiled monthly on or near the 25th of each month. Actual meter readings will be used to calculate the amount of water used and subsequently the amount to be billed. If meters cannot be safely read due to inclement weather or other unavoidable circumstance, then the water usage amount will be estimated based on actual usage during the previous 12 months. Rates are subject to change, but the Village will notify residents of any changes in writing at least 30 calendar days in advance. Bills will be generated on or near the last business day of each month and will be mailed to customers through the US Postal Service.

Bills will be mailed by the first of each month and will be **due on the 20**th of each month. If payment is not received by the due date, the balance due is considered **Late**. A Late Penalty of 10% of the full outstanding balance is assessed on the first business day after the 20th, and a Late Notice postcard printed on brightly-colored cardstock will mailed to customers.

Late payments are due on the first business day of the following month. An account that is not paid by the due date is considered **Delinquent** and will be charged a \$25 Delinquent Fee, <u>and</u> water service will be disconnected (weather permitting).

The "Shutoff Day" is the second business day of every month. Customers may request a Deadline Extension, which allows an extra 10 calendar days without penalty. Only 1 Deadline Extension will be allowed per customer per 12-month rolling period. Granting or refusing a request is the discretion of the Water Collector. All Delinquent accounts will receive a "Notice of Delinquent Balance & Shutoff" letter affixed to their front door. The Notice explains the balance due as well as the steps to have the service reconnected.

The Delinquent balance AND the Delinquent Fee must be paid in order for water service to be reconnected. There is no fee to reconnect water service during business hours. If an account-holder insists that water service be reconnected after 4:30pm, then a \$25 after-hours fee will also be assessed.

The subsequent billing cycle (heretofore referred to as Month-2) is calculated and printed before the Shutoff Day. Therefore, the Month-2 billing card does NOT include any Delinquent or Reconnect Fees. However, it DOES include the Late balance along with the new Month-2 charges. The Month-2 bill is due on the 20th. A 2nd Late Penalty of 10% of the full outstanding balance is assessed on the first business day after the 20th if no payment has been attempted, and the account is considered **High Risk**.

If the customer has a deposit on file, the deposit will be applied towards the outstanding bill. Any remaining deposit will be issued in a check form to the customer and mailed. If the deposit does not cover the entire bill and a balance remains outstanding, then arrangements will be attempted with the customer to facilitate payment. On the 21st of Month-2, if no payment has been attempted, a Notice of Collection Policy will be mailed to the customer.

If the customer fails to respond by the end of Month-2, then any outstanding balance greater than \$10 will be submitted to the Illinois State Comptroller through the Illinois Debt Recovery Offset Portal ("IDROP"), where the outstanding balance may be collected through their processes. If the Water Collector determines that the balance will not be collectible through IDROP, then a lien will be placed against the property through the Coles County Clerk's Office.

Overview of Timeline (based on a 30-day month and no dates falling holidays/weekends):

•	M1 1 st – Original Bill	NOTICE #1 written	
•	M1 20 th – Orig. Bill due		(0 days
	past due)		
•	M1 21 st – Late Fee & Late Notice	NOTICE #2 written	(1 days
	past due)		
•	M2 1 st – Month-2 Bill and Due Date of Late Notice	NOTICE #3 written	(11
	days past due)		
•	M2 2 nd –Delinquent Fee and Water Disconnected	NOTICE #4 utility shutoff	(12
	days past due)		
	Notice of Delinquent Balance & Shutoff on Door	& written	
•	M2 20 th – Subs. Bill due		(30
	days past due)		
•	M2 21st – Deposit is applied to outstanding balance and account is deactivated to prevent		
	further usage charges		
	Notice of Collections Policy	NOTICE #5 written	(32
	days past due)		
•	M3 1 st – Outstanding Balance is submitted to Comptroller/IDROP		(45
	days past due)		
•	M3 20 th – Outstanding Balance is filed as a lien against the property		
	days past due)		